top of page

Circle Weavings with 2nd Grade

I got this idea from the amazing Cassie Stephens. The instructions for this project are on her blog if you click here.

I talked about Wassily Kandinsky, a Russian artist, who painted a series called concentric circles. I had them make their own circles similar to his on the plates first by tracing different size container lids. I then had them paint the plates. I regret not using the Chinet plates that were suggested in the blog above. These were flimsy cheap paper plates and did not hold the paint very well. I ended up having them draw their patterns with oil pastels so we could start on the loom.

Here are a few of the circle weavings!

I decided to let them add beads and feathers to make dream catchers out of their weavings!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page