top of page

Starting Off the 2018-19 School Year

Last school year was my best one yet so it will be hard to beat it, but I am determined. I won Teacher of the Year and finished my first year of graduate school. I am currently working on my M.Ed. for Instructional Technology at Kennesaw State University and been learning so much about technology integration. Last year, I had my students create digital portfolios using the app Seesaw, but this year we will be using Class Dojo's new portfolio feature.

I decided to start off this school year having all students first through fifth grade make self portraits. First through third grade used a monochromatic color scheme, and fourth and fifth grade made analogous color scheme self portraits. I introduced some famous portrait artists through history and some contemporary artists using this screencast.

The portraits turned out amazing and made a wonderful display for our hallway.

Our next project revolved around dot day where each student created their own dot using washable markers on coffee filters with water. You can watch the video below for a read aloud of the book The Dot by Peter Reynolds.

Here are some pictures of the students' dots hung up around the school!

Early finishers experimented with the app Quiver Visions to turn their dot drawings 3D using augmented reality.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page