top of page

Kelsey Montague Wing Mural

For this school wide collaboration, I used Kelsey Montague's wing murals as inspiration and her hashtag #whatliftsyou. Several other art educators blogs inspired me to implement this with my students. I used a mix of Smart Class and Cassie Stephens blog . I started this project off with a Prezi about Kelsey Montague showing examples of her work around the world. Second through Fifth grade made their feathers by making a value scale of a color of their choice on the first day, cut out the shape of a feather using a stencil the second day and started to decorate using white Prisma colored pencils. I asked students to fill the feather with patterns or pictures of things "that lift them" aka make them happy. Grades PreK-1st Grade made their feathers by drawing their patterns and pictures with sharpies and then filling in the rest of the feather by making a wash using Crayola washable markers.

Once the mural was installed, I had each student take a picture in front of the wings and post it to Seesaw so their parents could see. Some students even posted the #Whatliftsyou and responded to the hashtag. This was one of my favorite projects I ever did with my students and definitely was the most up lifting. I wish we could have somehow made this mural permanent but I left it up for the rest of the school year. I am hoping that Kelsey Montague makes a mural soon in the Atlanta area.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page